Skip to content
Inverness Counts — Inverness, in numbers.Local help →

Inverness · Scotland

People and living standards

Highland council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Highland

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Highland local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 203,790 in 1991 to 237,260 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Highland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 208,650 people in 1996; 237,260 people in 2025. 13.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Highland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991203,790
1992205,670
1993206,740
1994207,380
1995208,220
1996208,650
1997208,560
1998208,850
1999209,200
2000209,130
2001208,920
2002209,760
2003211,640
2004214,560
2005218,060
2006220,780
2007224,000
2008226,970
2009228,750
2010230,730
2011232,730
2012233,000
2013233,080
2014233,180
2015234,060
2016234,570
2017234,800
2018234,530
2019234,510
2020233,910
2021235,850
2022235,710
2023236,830
2024237,570
2025237,260
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Highland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 43,322 people in 1996; 35,902 people in 2025. 17.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Highland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199143,705
199243,856
199343,851
199443,911
199543,555
199643,322
199742,512
199842,267
199942,107
200041,540
200140,889
200240,411
200340,101
200440,262
200540,487
200640,610
200740,776
200841,084
200941,317
201041,286
201141,334
201240,705
201340,160
201439,617
201539,378
201639,286
201738,828
201838,594
201938,446
202037,986
202137,601
202237,243
202336,998
202436,647
202535,902
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Highland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 132,693 people in 1996; 141,700 people in 2025. 6.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Highland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991129,746
1992130,935
1993131,649
1994131,738
1995132,467
1996132,693
1997132,914
1998133,093
1999133,207
2000133,263
2001133,241
2002134,048
2003135,497
2004137,602
2005139,926
2006141,870
2007144,042
2008145,545
2009145,924
2010147,072
2011147,972
2012147,266
2013146,417
2014145,586
2015145,682
2016145,320
2017145,038
2018144,018
2019143,048
2020141,949
2021143,028
2022142,309
2023142,559
2024142,396
2025141,700
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Highland council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 32,635 people in 1996; 59,658 people in 2025. 82.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Highland council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199130,339
199230,879
199331,240
199431,731
199532,198
199632,635
199733,134
199833,490
199933,886
200034,327
200134,790
200235,301
200336,042
200436,696
200537,647
200638,300
200739,182
200840,341
200941,509
201042,372
201143,424
201245,029
201346,503
201447,977
201549,000
201649,964
201750,934
201851,918
201953,016
202053,975
202155,221
202256,158
202357,273
202458,527
202559,658
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 235,336 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Highland · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total229,10497.4%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 232,132 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · Highland · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White228,69098.5%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller2910.1%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group6640.3%
Asian / Asian British: Indian4620.2%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani2340.1%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi2170.1%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese3790.2%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian5740.2%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British4070.2%
Other Ethnic Group2140.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Highland council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,463 per person in 1997; £24,917 per person in 2024. 163.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Highland council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,463
19989,583
199910,053
200010,237
200110,835
200211,189
200311,643
200411,988
200512,344
200613,267
200713,836
200815,322
200915,577
201015,872
201115,679
201216,391
201317,089
201417,231
201517,833
201617,986
201718,215
201818,992
201919,842
202019,739
202120,494
202221,481
202323,174
202424,917
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Highland council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -10.8% in 1997; -4% in 2024. 6.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Highland council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-10.8
1998-11.5
1999-11.1
2000-14
2001-12.4
2002-11.6
2003-10.7
2004-11.7
2005-12.2
2006-9.4
2007-9.8
2008-2.7
2009-2.7
2010-1.7
2011-3.8
2012-3
2013-2.4
2014-4.7
2015-6.3
2016-6.6
2017-7.5
2018-6.9
2019-5.8
2020-6
2021-6.2
2022-6.5
2023-5.2
2024-4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Highland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Highland local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£221,000

July 2026 · Highland local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.